ViaFrei Transport data, spoken Connect
Connect in one minute

Beta ViaFrei is in beta: answers and coverage can change, and the AI can make mistakes. Please check important details with the source named. What this means

A5 Zwingenberg: roadworks, closures, traffic now

At Zwingenberg junction on the A5, nothing is reported at the moment (as of 19:39).

Traffic light for the A5

Traffic light: GreenRedYellowGreen

Green — Nothing reported by our sources (as of 19:39) — no guarantee of a clear road.

For your choice on the A5.

How the traffic light is set
  • Red for a full closure of the carriageway, a wrong-way driver, objects, people or animals on the road, an accident with a closure, a weather warning of level 3–4 or a jam with a delay of 30 minutes or more.
  • Yellow for a shorter jam, roadworks narrowing the road, another traffic warning, a weather warning of level 1–2, slippery roads in the road-weather forecast, a closed entry or exit — or when a source is missing or out of date.
  • Green only when none of this is reported and the Autobahn GmbH reports, the Deutscher Wetterdienst warnings and, for every state in the area, a police source of its own are current. Green is no guarantee of a clear road.
  • With your position, everything within the chosen radius along the motorway that lies ahead of you in the chosen direction counts; what lies behind you or on the other carriageway does not. More than 2.0 km away from the motorway, it is counted from the nearest junction.
  • Read: the Autobahn GmbH (closures, jams, traffic warnings, roadworks), police and state traffic messages (for the states we hold a source of their own for), the bridge states in Schleswig-Holstein and the Deutscher Wetterdienst (warnings, road weather).
  • No colour from: detours, border crossings, lorry networks, parking and charging. A state with no current police source of its own keeps the light at yellow.

For what lies around you on this motorway – your exact position stays on your device.

Choose a place

Your place stays with you. ViaFrei creates no account and no profile and does not store your place. Your browser remembers a place on this device only when you choose it in this window – a place or an address, “Use my location” or “All of Germany” – together with your recent places; while this page uses a remembered place, a line under the place bar says so, and “Forget place” deletes it at once. The page asks for your location only when you choose “Use my location”; if you have already allowed it permanently in your browser, this page reads it without asking and stores nothing. Your location is rounded on your device to an area of about 500 m, and our server derives the street or place name for it from that area; it keeps that name in memory for at most an hour per area, without any link to you, and does not store it. It keeps the name of a station, place or address chosen here in memory for at most an hour in the same way. Your IP address is used only in memory, for the approximate location, and is not stored for it. More in the privacy policy

Recently chosen

    Large cities

    Reported now

    6 closures · 0 jams · 30 roadworks live ·

    By direction

    • Basel → Karlsruhe: 1 closure · 0 jams · 6 roadworks
    • Darmstadt → Heidelberg: 0 closures · 0 jams · 2 roadworks
    • Frankfurt → Kassel: 0 closures · 0 jams · 6 roadworks
    • Heidelberg → Darmstadt: 0 closures · 0 jams · 2 roadworks
    • Heidelberg → Karlsruhe: 0 closures · 0 jams · 2 roadworks
    • Karlsruhe → Basel: 0 closures · 0 jams · 4 roadworks
    • Karlsruhe → Heidelberg: 0 closures · 0 jams · 1 roadworks
    • Kassel → Frankfurt: 0 closures · 0 jams · 5 roadworks
    • no direction given: 9 closures · 0 jams · 7 roadworks
    Stretch and direction

    Direction:

    Show All · None

    Whole motorway

    Shown: from Zwingenberg junction to Zwingenberg junction

    Map

    Schematic map of the A5The A5 from Weil am Rhein/Hüningen to Hattenbacher Dreieck, drawn schematically through its junctions, with the reported closures, roadworks and jams.Rheinland-PfalzBaden-WürttembergSaarlandKölnFrankfurt am MainStuttgartBonnMannheimWiesbadenFreiburg im BreisgauMainzSaarbrückenDarmstadtHeidelbergPforzheimWürzburgHeilbronnUlmKoblenzTrierSiegenKaiserslauternFacilities per the publisher: toilet · restaurant · fuel station · playgroundFacilities per the publisher: toilet · picnic area
    • Junction or interchange
    • Service area or lorry park
    • Facilities per the publisher
    • Charging station

    Schematic: the line joins the points of the Location Code List in their order – not to scale, not a navigation map. Where the list has a gap, the line breaks too.

    Closures, jams and roadworks on the A5

    Lorry networks

    reference data · (sources: NRW.Mobidrom GmbH (SEVAS) 05:45, ivm Region Frankfurt RheinMain 07:34)

    What the Länder's lorry databases record on or right at this motorway, each publisher on its own.

    • ivm Frankfurt RheinMain: lorry priority network on 282 sections of this motorway (282 routes)

    Parking

    5 entrieslive · (sources: Lkw-Parken BAB Deutschland / Bundesministerium für Verkehr (BMV) 03:31, NRW.Mobidrom 19:01, Stadt Köln 25 Oct, 22:57, Stadt Wuppertal 14:18, Stadt Dortmund 16:40, Stadt Kassel 13:59, Stadt Leipzig 14:19, Landeshauptstadt Wiesbaden 17:32, Stadt Konstanz 17:32, Florence Knuellwald GmbH (Christophorus Parking) 19:01, Bosch Service Solutions 19:09, ENMO GmbH & Co.KG (Trucklounge Ecopark) 19:09, Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg 19:38, Stadt Münster 19:40, Stadt Dortmund (Tiefbauamt) 19:39, dl-de/by-2-0: Landeshauptstadt München – opendata.muenchen.de (bearbeitet) 01:21, Stadt Freiburg 19:38, Stadt Herrenberg (stadtnavi) 19:38, Kommunalservice Jena 14:11, VRR AöR 14:11, Digitale Mobilität (TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe) 14:11, Landeshauptstadt Kiel 13:42, Land Berlin 08:51 · not answering: 1)stale · ENMO GmbH & Co.KG (Trucklounge Ecopark) ·
    Show only sites with:

    2 of 4 sites state any facilities — for the rest they are unknown, not ruled out.

    Nearby according to OpenStreetMap:

    As the crow flies, within a fixed radius of the site, not from its publisher. Where nothing is named: unknown, not ruled out — OpenStreetMap holds named objects only.

    • Lorry parking · Alsbach · 86 spaces · 34 lorry spaces · at Zwingenberg junction · Map · Google MapsFacilities per the publisher: toilet · restaurant · fuel station · playgroundNearby per OpenStreetMap (straight line, access not checked): snack bar 60 m (Burger King) · café 70 m (Coffee Fellows)
    • Lorry parking · Nachtweide · 18 spaces · 18 lorry spaces · at Zwingenberg junction · Map · Google MapsFacilities per the publisher: toilet · picnic area
    • Park and ride · P+R Bensheim-Auerbach · 37 spaces · at Zwingenberg junction · Map · Google MapsFacilities: not reportedNearby per OpenStreetMap (straight line, access not checked): shop 190 m (Aldi Süd)
    • Park and ride · P+R Bensheim-Auerbach BF · 36 spaces · 19 free (as of 19:37) · at Zwingenberg junction · Map · Google MapsFacilities: not reportedNearby per OpenStreetMap (straight line, access not checked): shop 190 m (Aldi Süd)

    Verkehrsdaten: Autobahn GmbH des Bundes

    LKW-Parken: © Lkw-Parken BAB Deutschland / Bundesministerium für Verkehr (BMV) 2026 — GeoNutzV, Daten verändert

    Parkdaten: Verkehrsverbund Rhein-Neckar via MobiData BW, Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0, bearbeitet · licence text

    OSM-Standortdaten: © OpenStreetMap-Mitwirkende, ODbL 1.0 · licence text

    These entries come from our database derived from OpenStreetMap. We send a complete machine-readable copy (CSV) under the ODbL 1.0 free of charge on request – contact details in the imprint.

    More car parks mapped by OpenStreetMap

    OSM-Standortdaten: © OpenStreetMap-Mitwirkende, ODbL 1.0 · licence text

    These entries come from our database derived from OpenStreetMap. We send a complete machine-readable copy (CSV) under the ODbL 1.0 free of charge on request – contact details in the imprint.

    Charging

    3 entrieslive · (sources: EnBW AG 18:55, Eco-Movement 19:02, Tesla Germany GmbH 18:45, Volkswagen Group Charging GmbH 18:45, e-clearing.net (smartlab Innovationsgesellschaft mbH) 18:55, 800 Volt Technologies GmbH (PUMP) 10:23, Ampeco Ltd 10:23, Audi AG (Audi charging hub) 10:23, ENIO GmbH 10:23, EW Pricing GmbH (EV Price) 10:23, EWE 10:24, GLS Mobility GmbH 10:26, GP JOULE Connect GmbH 10:26, Grid & Co 10:26, Hamburger Energienetze GmbH (eRound) 10:27, INERGIA GmbH 10:28, K.u.L 10:28, LichtBlick eMobility GmbH 10:29, Monta ApS 10:32, Qwello Deutschland GmbH 10:32, Road B.V 10:33, SMATRICS GmbH & Co KG 10:33, Wirelane GmbH 10:33, chargecloud GmbH 10:33, vaylens GmbH 10:34, Taubert Consulting GmbH (TC-Backend) 14:11, ELU Mobility 14:12, Chargepool Enerando Technologies GmbH 14:12, eliso GmbH 14:12, chargecloud (CC0 1.0) 19:13, Taubert Consulting (CC0 1.0) 19:14, Bundesnetzagentur.de 00:54, ENERANDO Technologies GmbH 19:35, Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg 19:39 · not answering: 5)stale · ENIO GmbH · stale · Audi AG (Audi charging hub) · stale · Volkswagen Group Charging GmbH · +2

    Charging stations within 600 m of the junctions and service areas. Charging stations read 19:30; each point's status with its own time.

    • Emil Frey Vogel Automobile GmbH · 2 charge points · up to 50 kW · status from 19:09 — possibly out of date · at Zwingenberg junction · Map · Google Maps
    • GGEW AG · 2 charge points · up to 22 kW · no status data · at Zwingenberg junction · Map · Google Maps
    • Mer Germany (TuR) - Alsbach - Alsbach West · 3 charge points · up to 50 kW · status from 25 Oct, 20:42 — possibly out of date, 1 without status · at Zwingenberg junction · Map · Google Maps

    Only a few operators publish live occupancy; “no status data” means unknown, not free.

    Ladesäulenregister: Bundesnetzagentur.de, CC BY 4.0, bearbeitet · licence text

    Ladepunkte: Eco-Movement via Mobilithek, CC BY 4.0, bearbeitet · licence text

    Ladepunkt-Verfügbarkeit: Eco-Movement via Mobilithek, CC BY 4.0, bearbeitet · licence text

    Ladepunkt-Verfügbarkeit: vaylens GmbH via Mobilithek, CC0 1.0

    Ladepunkte: vaylens GmbH via Mobilithek, CC0 1.0

    Fuel

    prices on request

    We load the prices of the filling stations along the motorway only when you ask for them. Loading the prices needs JavaScript on this page.

    Towns along the route

    83 entriesreference data ·
    Show all 83

    Municipalities within 15 km (large city), 8.0 km (medium-sized town) or 3.0 km (others) in a straight line of an exit, each listed once at its nearest exit.

    Nothing reported:

    Closures
    live ·

    none

    Jams
    live ·

    none

    Weather warnings (DWD)
    live ·

    No official warning along the motorway.

    Roadworks
    live ·

    none

    Planned closures
    live ·

    Planned full closures, next 7 days

    Autobahn GmbH announces no full closure in this stretch for the next 7 days (as of 19:39); for the whole motorway, clear the selection.

    Interchanges and connected motorways
    live ·
    Detours
    live · (sources: Verkehrsministerium Baden-Württemberg 25 Oct, 14:46, Landesbetrieb Straßenbau Nordrhein-Westfalen 19:13, Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg 20 Oct, 04:41)

    Signed detours are shown here for North Rhine-Westphalia, Baden-Württemberg and Hamburg. We also hold Schleswig-Holstein's detour routes, but they are not tied to a motorway. Detours give the traffic light no colour.

    Police and Land messages
    live · (sources: Landesbetrieb Straßenbau NRW (VIZ.NRW) 19:41, Die Autobahn GmbH des Bundes (Mobilithek) 19:41, Landesmeldestelle für den Verkehrswarndienst Baden-Württemberg (Innenministerium Baden-Württemberg) 19:33, Landesmeldestelle Polizei Schleswig-Holstein 19:35, Senatsverwaltung für Mobilität 19:13, Landesmeldestelle Berlin (LMST BE) 19:37, Digitale Plattform Stadtverkehr Berlin / Baustellen 19:13, Stadt Köln 19:17, Landeshauptstadt Hannover – Fachbereich Tiefbau 19:26, Stadt Rüsselsheim am Main 18:53, Stadt Kassel 19:13, Stadt Leipzig 19:24 · not answering: 1)stale · Verkehrsmanagementzentrale Bremen ·

    No police or state traffic message on the A5 in the sources we read.

    We read current police and state traffic messages here for: Baden-Württemberg, Hesse.

    Bridges
    live ·

    We hold bridge states for Schleswig-Holstein only (three bridges); elsewhere the traffic light says nothing about bridges.

    Border crossings
    reference data ·

    Border crossings: Brandenburg only — with no word on whether a crossing is open or how long the wait is.

    Route

    reference data · data as of LCL 22.0

    From Weil am Rhein/Hüningen junction to Hattenbacher Dreieck interchange · 72 junctions and interchanges

    about 430 km along the points of the Location Code List (schematic)

    Through Baden-Württemberg, Hesse (state by the nearest municipality of each junction)

    Junction strip

    The junctions in their order, with what is reported at each.

    1. from here Hesse 29 Zwingenberg junction parking · charging · Map · Google Maps

    On every motorway

    Lorry driving ban

    On Sundays and public holidays, lorries over 7.5 t and lorries with trailers may not drive between 00:00 and 22:00. (§ 30 Abs. 3 StVO)

    Next ban day: Sunday 1 November.

    The motorway's states by the nearest municipality of each junction. Holidays per § 30 Abs. 4 StVO, reviewed 8 October 2026 · Informational, not legal advice.

    • On the Autobahn there is no general speed limit where no sign says otherwise; the advisory speed is 130 km/h. Drive faster and you can share liability in a crash. (Autobahn-Richtgeschwindigkeits-V)
    • Rescue lane: as soon as traffic slows on a motorway or rural road with at least two lanes per direction, keep a lane free between the leftmost lane and the one beside it — immediately, not once the blue lights arrive. (§ 11 Abs. 2 StVO)
    • 112 reaches ambulance and fire service (Europe-wide), 110 the police — free from any network, credit or not. (Notrufverordnung (NotrufV))

    Reviewed 19 September 2026 · Informational, not legal advice.

    All motorways